Modification and Fix: DC Collectible Batman (from the Capullo series)

Had an issue on my DC Collectible Capullo series Batman action figure were the peg connected to the left wrist is somehow glued so it broke off on my first instance of trying to twist it.

image

This is my first figure from the DC Collectible line though already heard and saw stuff online about how poor this figures are interms of having fragile/weak joints. Some of these issues are also a result of paint apps that tends to stick well with the plastic like glue
So with what happened I was heart broken and decided to keep this on my “toys I have but don’t want to put on display” storage for months. I was planning to contact some customizers to have this fix but today I just decided to handle this by myself.

image

Here is the figure and the original left broken hand (center), then we have a Marvel Select Gambit hand (above) and a Marvel Select Eddie Brock Venom hand (below). Amongst the figures I have that came with a default hands, these two are the only ones I am willing to sacrifice.

image

First, I dipped the left arm on a glass with a hot water (glad the glass didn’t crack lol) from a water dispenser. This will help soften the plastic so I can pull the arm off the figure.

image

So step 1 was succesfull, though if you’re going to do this please take note that there’s a small chance the peg on the arm may broke off if pulled the wrong way. What I did is pull it straight through to avoid bending the peg on the arm that may cause some cracks or break the whole thing off.

image

I borrowed an ordinary drill and just based the depth on how long the peg of the new set of hands I will be using.

Some say a smaller drill is better and preferred tool but I dont have that… And I was desperate…. And bored….. And REALLY desperate…lol

image

Overall it went well as planned and put everything back in. It looks okay now that he has a left hand that can atleast swivel and will just work on adding paint on the new hands using a black marker.

image

image

image

Probably soon I will have to work on taking out his right hand as well so both hands wouldn’t look off. But like I mentioned I am pretty much contented with the outcome.

Sometimes it’s not that bad to butcher a few figures amd sacrifice some parts just to fix one.lol

image

Leave a Reply

